It is currently Fri 05 Jun 2020 2:51 am

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jun 2012 10:27 pm 

Read here for some information about this resource.

viewtopic.php?f=36&t=1258

If anyone has used Rosetta Stone, feel free to comment here. When someone is trying to decide which resource would best suit his/her needs, it can be useful to hear what others think.

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jun 2012 10:53 pm 

Saoirse wrote:

for l
If anyone has used Rosetta Stone, feel free to comment here. When someone is trying to decide which resource would best suit his/her needs, it can be useful to hear what others think.

A Shaoirse, a chara,

I have been using Rosetta Stone Level 1 for learning Irish in the past few months, combining with other text books as reference. I have actually finished level 1 only a few days ago. I was a complete beginner, and I had never received any Irish education before. I have to say that I find it quite useful.Below are what I think the advantages and downside:

1. The software is aimed at creating a pure Irish speaking environment, no English involved at all. It shows you photos of people or things, and will show you how to say things in Irish. Basically like children learning to speak. They hear what the adults say and imitate the pronunciation. However, it could create some problems because you do not actually see how they pronounce the words. So it was a bit difficult if you don't have any Irish. I had to use dictionaries to translate some of the sentences in the very beginning. But after a while, once you get use to the pattern, it will become easier.

2. Before you start the lesson, the software gives you an option for what you would like to focus on, reading, speaking, listening and writing. You can also choose how long you would like to finish the level, from 1 academic year to a couple of months.

3. All the voices for the recordings are in Connemara Irish (I think).