It is currently Fri 19 Apr 2024 2:49 am

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: Seo anseo difference
PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2021 12:14 pm 

Dia dhaoibh ar fad!

I'm very new to Irish and I found this forum a few days ago but now I am starting to read the grammar books and pay a little more attention than just to animal names and colours. I tried searching this forum for subjects that had "seo" and "anseo" in the title, but the message that popped up was that these words were too common and a search could not be returned. I don't think I will be the first person to ask this, but without being able to search more effectively, I thought I would just ask.

I learned "sin" means "there" and "seo" means "here" and then there is a use where you combine this with the definite article to get "this/that", such as "an buachaill sin" (lit. the boy there -> that boy) and a similar thing with seo/this.

But separately, I've seen "anseo" and I am not sure how it would differ from "seo" by itself. There is a note in Wikipedia about something to do with implied motion, but that didn't make sense to me without an example. I hope this question is the kind of thing that's okay to ask here.

Go raibh maith agaibh!
Alex

Post subject: Re: Seo anseo difference
PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2021 1:29 pm 

am1234 wrote:
I learned "sin" means "there" and "seo" means "here" and then there is a use where you combine this with the definite article to get "this/that", such as "an buachaill sin" (lit. the boy there -> that boy) and a similar thing with seo/this

No, seo means "this" and sin means "that" and siúd / úd means "that" (in distance).

Well, "here" and "this" are related in meaning and there are situations seo can actually mean "here" on its own, but first of all it means "this".