It is currently Mon 28 Sep 2020 8:51 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011 5:42 pm 

Hi there, I am VERY new at this so any help is GREATLY APPRECIATED!

I have a tattoo of the Celtic Tree of Life and Triquetra that I am wanting to get that is packed FULL of important meaning to me...right down to the color being used. My family is Scottish on my mother's side and I would like a small quote to go with it in Gaelic but I need help with the translation. I obviously want it to be correct and make sense. I am looking for something along the lines of:

"Find strength within for Life is a journey"

I think 'strength within' = neart laistigh .......and that 'life is a journey' = is turas é an saol

I'm just not sure how to combine them?? Also the correct pronuciation would help please!

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011 8:27 pm 

Hi, Emily116, welcome to the forum. :wave:

There aren't a lot of Scottish speakers here so it may take a little while to get a reply.

WARNING: Intermediate speaker - await further opinions, corrections and adjustments before acting on my advice.
My "specialty" is Connemara Irish, particularly Cois Fhairrge dialect.
Is fearr Gaeilge ḃriste ná Béarla cliste, cinnte, aċ i ḃfad níos fearr aríst í Gaeilge ḃinn ḃeo na nGaeltaċtaí.
Gaeilge Chonnacht (GC), go háraid Gaeilge Chois Fhairrge (GCF), agus Gaeilge an Chaighdeáin Oifigiúil (CO).

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011 8:29 pm 

I saw after I posted that there is a seperate area for Scottish Gaelic that I posted my request there as well....not sure if it will make a difference where the request is?

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011 8:32 pm 

Ah, right you are, I am half asleep and didn't see your thread was in a different section. :facepalm:

I've moved the original request to the Scottish section now as you can see.

WARNING: Intermediate speaker - await further opinions, corrections and adjustments before acting on my advice.
My "specialty" is Connemara Irish, particularly Cois Fhairrge dialect.