It is currently Mon 20 Nov 2017 5:13 pm

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017 2:39 am 

Hi!

My name is Patrick and I'm interested in learning the Irish language since many years, and I'm currently studying on my free time with many books and the Rosetta Stone. My first language is French (from Canada) and Irish would be my third language!

What brings me here is a validation/correction of terms from English to French. I plan to design a Tarot deck based on the classic Rider-Waite-Smith, with Irish/Celtic thematic but using the Irish language for the names cards - something that has never been done as I can see.

There we go! I obtained this result with research in dictionaries and had to modify some names as the Irish equivalent were existent, I added the change in parenthesis. Also, I prefer using "Druid" instead of "Magician.

The Major Arcana:

The Fool - An t-amadán
The Magician (Druid) - An druí
The High Priestess - An Ard-Sagart
The Empress (Female Emperor) - An Impire Mná
The Emperor - An Impire
The Hierophant - An Gheimhridh
The Lovers - An leannán
The Chariot (Carriage) - An carbad
Strength - Neart
The Hermit - An Díogán
Wheel of Fortune (Wheel of Fate) - Roth Cinniúint
Justice - Dlí agus Cirt
The Hanged Man - An Fear Crochta
Death - Bás
Temperance - Éadóchas
The Devil - An Diabhal
The Tower - An Túr
The star - An réalta
The Moon - An ghealach
The Sun - An ghrian
Judgment - Breithiúnas
The World - An domhain

The Court Cards Titles:

Page - Leathanach na [suit name]
Knight - Ridire na [suit name]
Queen - Banríon na [suit name]
King - Rí na [suit name]

The Four Suits Names:

[number] of Wand (rods) - ... de na slata
[number] of Swords - ... de na claimhte
[number] of Pentacles (coins) - ... de na boinn
[number] of Cups - ... de na cupáin

Also, I'm not sure with the right capitalization of the Irish words...

Thanks in advance for the help!

Slán! :hullo: