It is currently Fri 29 Mar 2024 5:21 am

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 726 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 73  Next
PostPosted: Wed 31 Aug 2011 11:04 am 

Dia dhaoibh, tá áthas orm bualadh libh. Breandán atá orm. Is Astrálach mé. Tá mé ag foghlaim na Gaeilge le cúig bliana is fiche anuas agus tá mé i gcónaí ag foghlaim! :darklaugh:

(Hi, nice to meet you all. My name is Brendan. I'm Australian. I have been learning Irish for 25 years and I am still learning! :darklaugh: )

Why Irish? I fell in love with Irish music (Clannad) and then I discovered the language that goes with it. I lived in Tokyo for sixteen years and made five trips to Ireland in all. (At one stage I was teaching Irish to Japanese students at a private language school in Tokyo.) Now I sing songs in Irish and play uilleann pipes here in Oz.

Let us know what sparked _your_ interest in Irish.

Breandán

WARNING: Intermediate speaker - await further opinions, corrections and adjustments before acting on my advice.
My "specialty" is Connemara Irish, particularly Cois Fhairrge dialect.
Is fearr Gaeilge ḃriste ná Béarla cliste, cinnte, aċ i ḃfad níos fearr aríst í Gaeilge ḃinn ḃeo na nGaeltaċtaí.
Gaeilge Chonnacht (GC), go háraid Gaeilge Chois Fhairrge (GCF), agus Gaeilge an Chaighdeáin Oifigiúil (CO).

PostPosted: Fri 02 Sep 2011 11:40 pm 

Tá athas orm a bheith anseo. Bhualaigh mé leis Breandan 2 bhlían ó shin ar an siomh Daltai Na Gaeilge. Spreag Breandan mé nuair a thosaigh mé an Gaeilge a fhoghlaim. Tá mé ag súil le comhra a bheith agam leis na daoine anseo. Tá mé staidéar ar an nGaeilge a dhéanamh 2 bhlían anuas.

I am happy to be here. I met Breandan two years ago on the Daltai Web site. Brendan encouraged me when I began to learn Irish. I am looking forward to having conversation with people here. I began my study of Irish about two years ago.

PostPosted: Sat 03 Sep 2011 12:16 am