It is currently Tue 18 Jun 2019 2:59 pm

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2013 9:17 pm 

Read here for some information about this resource.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=1867

If anyone has used this resource, feel free to comment here. When someone is trying to decide which resource would best suit his/her needs, it can be useful to hear what others think.

PostPosted: Tue 11 Feb 2014 11:46 pm 

I received it yesterday, extremely prompt delivery (about three days). I am a beginner and as such I can't really make an informed review, but in any event I will share my initial thoughts. I am talking about the Beginners Level book.

- The book is attractive: for people who like visually attractive books, with photos, colours, bold pagination, this book will deliver. Personally I don't mind at all to have something that is a "wall of text", or even in two colours. Buntús Cainte, for example, is light reading, but "Gaeilge gan Stró!" is a good representative of the more modern graphical approaches.

- Lots of guidance: the book is divided in Units, and there are recommendations about how to tackle each one, what are the objectives, how to listen and take notes, etc. Each unit contains a mix of listening, writing, pronunciation, etc. A lot of conversations to hear, many of them with tasks associated. Many exercises, clear and with clear feedback (using the solutions sheet). "Learning advice" boxes also provide additional suggestions (different learning strategies, etc).

- Interesting support information: there is more than just Irish in there, general information is also scattered throughout inside "Insight" boxes, like what is a Gaeltacht, what are the common ways to give a toast in Irish, what's the CO, etc, etc).

- Some grammar. Not at all a grammar-driven course, but some grammar is introduced as one goes along.